Introduction to Kenyan money

Kenyan currency
The export of Kenyan currency by visitors is strictly prohibited. PHOTO/FILE
The official currency in Kenya is the Kenyan Shilling (KES), which is divided into 100 cents.

Coins are available in denominations of 5 cents and 10 cents (copper coins) as well as 50 cents and 1, 5, 10, 20 and 40 shillings (nickel coins).

Paper currency is available in denominations of 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000 shillings (bank notes).

There is no limit to the amount of foreign bank notes or traveller’s cheques which you may bring into the country. In fact you don’t have to declare cash on arrival.

However, the export of Kenyan currency by visitors is strictly prohibited. A maximum of KES100,000 may be taken out of the country but if this exceeded the whole amount is confiscated by the authorities.

You can change cash or traveller’s cheques at most commercial banks, forex bureaus and hotels (although you have to be their guest). To change money you need to have your passport at hand, and it is advisable to check a currency converter to ensure you get the latest exchange rates.

Note: Although credit cards (mainly MasterCard, Visa and American Express) are widely accepted in all major hotels and establishments, it is important to carry some cash on you because small shops will only accept cash payments.